Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (170) posts »

Call for Nominations: AIC 3rd Vice President

Posted By Administration, Monday, May 22, 2017

The AIC Nominating Committee will convene at the upcoming AIC Annual Conference to interview and nominate a candidate for AIC 3rd Vice President. To be considered for the position of AIC 3rd Vice President, candidates must be an elected city official from an AIC member city. Eligible candidates should also be from either AIC District 5 or 6 (cities in Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Bonneville, Butte, Caribou, Clark, Custer, Franklin, Fremont, Jefferson, Lemhi, Madison, Oneida, or Teton Counites).

Nomination Process

The nomination process begins with the establishment of the AIC Nominating Committee, the structure of which is set forth in the AIC Bylaws. The Nominating Committee will interview perspective officers on the afternoon of Wednesday, June 21st. The Nominating Committee will announce their nomination for AIC Board Officers during the Breakfast General Session on Thursday, June 22nd. The election of AIC Board Officers will then take place during the AIC Awards Banquet held the evening of Thursday, June 22nd. At that time, the AIC President will call for any further nominations from the floor. After nominations are made, the AIC President will then preside over the election of 2018 AIC Board Officers.

Nominating Committee Chair: Greg Lanting, Councilmember, Twin Falls, AIC Immediate Past President.

Nominating Committee Members: Greg Lanting (Twin Falls Councilmember), Tammy de Weerd (Meridian Mayor), John Evans (Garden City Mayor), Mac Pooler (Kellogg Mayor), Mitch Hart (Soda Spring Councilmember), Garret Nancolas (Mayor, Caldwell).

Nominating Committee Quorum Requirements: Minimum of three AIC Past Presidents. If a Quorum cannot be established the President will appoint three sitting AIC District Directors to serve with the available Past Presidents on the Nominating Committee.

Nomination of Officers: The Nominating Committee is required to select candidates according to a geographic rotation to ensure each of Idaho’s major geographic regions are represented. The AIC Bylaws have established the geographic regions to be:

North: AIC Districts 1 and 2

South: AIC Districts 3 and 4

East: AIC Districts 5 and 6

West: AIC District 3a

For FY2018, the AIC Officers are (by geographic region):

President: Jeri DeLange, Hayden Councilmember (North)

1st Vice President: Elaine Clegg, Boise Councilmember (West)

2nd Vice President: Suzanne Hawkins, Twin Falls Councilmember (South)

3rd Vice President: Open for Nomination (East)

To conform with Section 6, Article IV of the AIC Bylaws, the Nominating Committee is tasked with nominating a candidate for 3rd Vice President from the East Region of AIC (AIC Districts 5 or 6).

Those interested in being considered for the position of AIC 3rd Vice President should contact AIC Executive Director Seth Grigg via email ( Seth will then notify the Chairman of the AIC Nominating Committee of your interest and assist in scheduling an interview at the appropriate time.

About the AIC Board of Directors

The association is governed by a Board of Directors elected annually by the membership. The Board is charged with conducting the affairs of the association on behalf of member cities. Specifically, the Board is responsible for:

  • Advancing the public interest of cities,
  • Building democracy and community within cities, and
  • Strengthening the capacity of municipal government by providing research, education, and training to city elected officials and staff.

The Bylaws establish three types of Board membership: Officers, District Directors, and Past Presidents.

Officers: The Officers of the association consist of a President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, and Third Vice President. Officers are nominated by the Nominating Committee (chaired by the Immediate Past President and consisting of all Past Presidents serving on the Board) and elected by the full membership at the Annual Conference. Officers are nominated to maintain balance between Idaho’s four geographic regions. The Officers of the association also serve as members of the Board Executive Committee.

District Directors: Two District Directors are elected from each of the seven AIC districts at regional spring district workshops. Each District Director serves for staggered two year terms.

Past Presidents: Past Presidents of the Association who have served continuously in city elective office may continue serving as voting members of the Board. The four of the most recent past presidents also serve on the AIC Board Executive Committee.

Executive Committee: The Executive Committee has general supervision over the affairs of the Association between Board meetings. The Executive Committee is also responsible for overseeing and evaluating the performance of the Executive Director.


This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal