Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (186) posts »

Legislative Alert: Contact House State Affairs Committee to Oppose HB 487 on Bond & Levy Elections

Posted By Justin Ruen, Wednesday, February 14, 2018

On Friday, February 16, the House State Affairs Committee will consider AIC-opposed legislation to prohibit cities, school districts and other local governments from re-running a bond or levy election for at least 12 months after a failed attempt.

We ask city officials to contact members of the committee (listed at the bottom of this email) and respectfully ask that they oppose House Bill 487.

AIC joins with the Idaho School Boards Association in opposing House Bill 487.  Local government officials in Idaho oppose the bill for the following reasons.

Mayors, city councilors, and school board trustees are elected to represent their communities and have the community’s best interests at heart.  These local elected officials understand the sacrifices that property taxpayers make to fund vital facilities like schools, police and fire stations, and streets.  Local elected officials understand the impact of these decisions on retirees that are living on fixed incomes.

Preventing bond or levy elections from being run for 12 months after a first failed attempt would hurt communities that currently depend on supplemental levies for school operations funding.  Ensuring that schools have adequate resources to educate kids is everyone’s priority.

City revenue bonds for wastewater projects ensure that communities are complying with water quality regulations, protecting against crippling fines that would be a terrible burden on the community’s utility customers.

We respectfully ask that legislators oppose HB 487.  The members of House State Affairs Committee and their emails are listed below.

Rep. Thomas F. Loertscher, Bone, Chair:

Rep. Jason A. Monks, Nampa, Vice Chair:

Rep. Lynn M. Luker, Boise:

Rep. Brent J. Crane, Nampa:

Rep. Joe Palmer, Meridian:

Rep. Vito Barbieri, Dalton Gardens:

Rep. James Holtzclaw, Meridian:

Rep. Steven Harris, Meridian:

Rep. Randy Armstrong, Inkom:

Rep. Priscilla Giddings, White Bird:

Rep. Dustin Manwaring, Pocatello:

Rep. Christy Zito, Hammett:

Rep. Heather Scott, Blanchard:

Rep. Elaine Smith, Pocatello:

Rep. Paulette E. Jordan, Plummer:

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal